Video

[Video] Allan Armitage on Buffalo Gardens

Tour of Buffalo Gardens Reveals Hidden Gems And Community Pride, Allan Armitage, in Greenhouse Grower magazine
“My friends, what I experienced were not spectacular gardens. I was not seeing manicured estates, nor was any one garden the greatest thing I had ever wandered into. No, what I was seeing was pride of neighborhood, pride of ownership, and pride of a city. Homes were cared for, porches lived on, and the gardens were handsome. No garden was particularly large, none was meant to impress, but all oozed with pride and pleasure. It was as if a large welcome mat was spread from street to street, inviting me for cheese and crackers on the porch. Needless to say, I was impressed.””What does a three-hour roam around Buffalo mean to our industry? It should provide all of us with a richer understanding that we can make a difference in neighborhoods, in cities, and certainly in people’s lives. We sometimes need to be reminded that plants, gardens, and gardening are important to people. Not just to a few people, but to hundreds of thousands who enjoy the creativity and therapy of working in the dirt. Thank you Buffalo for providing us with that reminder. As for me, I am a born-again Buffalonian!”

“My friends, what I experienced were not spectacular gardens. I was not seeing manicured estates, nor was any one garden the greatest thing I had ever wandered into. No, what I was seeing was pride of neighborhood, pride of ownership, and pride of a city” -Allan Armitage

Jim Charlier is an advertising designer/photographer/crafter with a serious gardening problem. He is co-author of "Harry Potter: Herbology Magic: Botanical Projects, Terrariums, and Gardens Inspired by the Wizarding World" (Insight Editions, 2023) He's co-written a garden design book featuring the funky, quirky and fun gardens by the gardeners of Buffalo titled "Buffalo-Style Gardens: Create a Quirky, One-of-a-Kind Private Garden with Eye-Catching Designs" (St. Lynn's Press, 2019); he writes a long-standing garden blog (ArtofGardening.org); led the largest garden tour in America, Garden Walk Buffalo; has written for, or provided photography for dozens of magazines and books; has made presentations and participated in panel discussions on garden design and garden tourism nationally and internationally.

0 comments on “[Video] Allan Armitage on Buffalo Gardens

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.